Options

External Microphone and Lens Upgrade

SokrManSokrMan Registered Users Posts: 4 Beginner grinner
edited January 19, 2012 in Accessories
Hello!
I'm a teenage photographer. I recently purchased a Canon T2i Camera along with the regular kit lens. I had a few questions about upgrades - what would the next lens up be? The original kit lens does not zoom out far enough, at least for me. Would it be the Canon lens that is 55mm to 250mm? Additionally, when I take videos with the camera, I hear the internal parts of the camera moving as part of the audio. I'm assuming to solve this I would need to buy an external microphone. What nice, basic, and fairly cheap external mic would y'all recommend??

Thanks!

Also! Please check out my gallery! All advice is appreciated. I'm trying to sell pictures to fundraise for my eagle scout project.

http://eaglescouts.prahan.com

Comments

• Options
    ziggy53ziggy53 Super Moderators Posts: 23,915 moderator
    edited January 19, 2012
    It's very important to mention how you will use the equipment that you ask advice about.

For example, the Canon EF-S 55-250mm, f4.0-5.6 IS is a very inexpensive tele-zoom lens. While the optics are actually pretty good, especially if you stop it down a bit, the AF motor is relatively slow and sometimes the AF is inaccurate too. Build quality is entry level, so you really must not abuse or even bump this lens too hard; it really can snap the mount clean off the lens.

However, like I said before, in good light, when you "can" stop the lens down, it's a very lightweight lens of pretty good optical quality. I notice that your site includes a lot of images in the "Hiking" galleries, as well as a lot of images in the "Nature" and "Travel". This sort of activity may well indicate using a lens like the Canon EF-S 55-250mm, f4.0-5.6 IS. (Just be careful with it, if you choose that lens.)