Options

At 200m on an VR or IS lens, what is the slowest shutter speed handheld for a novice?

John8John8 Registered Users Posts: 21 Big grins
edited January 31, 2012 in Technique
Hi all, got a couple relative weddings to go to in March so looking to hire a 70-200mm IS lens for the occasions. I am no pro and not the official photographer (relief and pressure off) but would like to get some practice on these occasions.

Never done a wedding before but would imagine most of the time will be in low lights, I'm just wondering how far I can push (in term of shutter speed) before serious camera shake at 200mm lens with IS on. I am mainly looking for candid kind of shootings.

Comments

• Options
    ziggy53ziggy53 Super Moderators Posts: 23,809 moderator
    edited January 30, 2012
    Nikon claims a 3-4 stop advantage for the Nikkor 70-200mm, f2.8G ED VR II, and many reviewers report that to be fairly accurate. (The 3 stop advantage is for the longer end of the zoom.) Your own shooting style and shooting stance can and will affect the actual numbers that "you" can hand hold. If you are a rifle shooter, use the "shooter's stance" for this lens too. If you are not a rifle shooter, find someone that is, that also knows the stance, and have them teach you.

If possible, a tripod will beat VR/IS-handheld any day. A monopod is a pretty good second choice. Bracing on a chair or a wall is also often an option. (You would use these techniques instead of VR/IS, as possible.)

Without knowing the camera settings and church light levels, it's impossible to be more definitive.
    ziggy53
    Moderator of the Cameras and Accessories forums
  • Options
    zoomerzoomer Registered Users Posts: 3,688 Major grins
    edited January 30, 2012
    70-200 isn't really an indoor low light lens. Maybe if you have to shoot from the back of the church and you have a rest....otherwise you would end up with a lot of blur.