Options

New here my first share CC welcome!

3smiles3smiles Registered Users Posts: 35 Big grins
edited February 4, 2012 in People
At this point I am a mom with a camera but I have always dreamed of doing more with it!

That stated here is what I got of my 8.5yr old today.
IMG_2298.JPG
SOOC ISO 800 f3.2 tv 1/1250
Here is my B&W I did in PSE9.0
IMG_2298%2Bbw%2Bwm.jpg

If you have any advice on the best place to learn please let me know as the nearest school that offers any courses is over an hour away. I have self taught just by reading forums online. I have a bunch of friends that really want me to jump into business but I don't feel ready.
Liza

Comments

• Options
    HackboneHackbone Registered Users Posts: 4,027 Major grins
    edited January 30, 2012
    The second print is much better. Watch out for direction of light. One side should be brighter than the other but not always. Think of Rembrandt and his work, you want to try to light that way. Watch out for the slouching, always start with a good base wether it be the feet of the bum when sitting. If that is right the rest seems to go better. It might help more to say how you did it, then we could go from there in more detail.
  • Options
    Quincy TQuincy T Registered Users Posts: 1,090 Major grins
    edited January 30, 2012
    #2 is going to be better no matter what, whether you did it in B&W or color. #1 has way too much negative space over the head. Along with that, in both of the images, there is this very bright light in the bottom right corner which pulls the eye well off target. Certainly a beautiful daughter, and if you continue learning and innovating, you will be more than a mom with a camera. Only if you really want to be, though.
  • Options
    heatherfeatherheatherfeather Registered Users Posts: 2,738 Major grins
    edited January 30, 2012