Options

looking for advice on concert photos!

TcrowTcrow Registered Users Posts: 2 Beginner grinner
edited February 16, 2012 in Technique
Hello Dgrin world! I am very new to photography and would love some advice on taking concert photos. My brother is Playing a New Years Eve show with his band The Herbert Wiser Band (herbertwiser.com):D at a new local venue and i would love to get some decent pics. I have a Canon Rebel xs with a kit lens (18-55mm) also a telephoto lens 75-300mm. The venue has new LED lighting with lots of lazers/ lights on movers/ smoke, its gonna be a crazy rock show:barb!! I know that i dont have the ideal glass for low light situations but I would love some input on what settings/appature/iso to use. Should i be shooting in all Manuall mode? turn auto focus off on the lens? Any advice would be most excellent!!

Comments

• Options
    QarikQarik Registered Users Posts: 4,959 Major grins
    edited December 29, 2011
    with your setup..keep it at f/4, 1/100s and start at iso1600. you will most likley be underexposed. Then its a choice between getting stuff in focus vs noise. If you have a flash try bouncing it off ceiling but if it's like most clubs the ceiling and walls be be black/dark. Direct flash is just not an option imo..it will ruin everything. You can try some kind of diffused flash option. I am assuming you can get up close to the stage..you won't even need your telephoto (it will be too dark anyway with the shutter speeds you will need).
    D700, D600
    14-24 24-70 70-200mm (vr2)
    85 and 50 1.4
    45 PC and sb910 x2
    http://www.danielkimphotography.com
  • Options
    New Hope StudiosNew Hope Studios Registered Users Posts: 39 Big grins
    edited December 30, 2011
    Qarik wrote: »