Options

custom Firmware?

piercepierce Registered Users Posts: 66 Big grins
edited March 7, 2012 in Cameras
anyone here playing around with custom firmware like Magic Lantern for select EOS cameras?

I just tried Magic Lantern on my new EOS 60D.... I'm a computer software/systems engineer by trade, and its a little too nerdy and complicated even for my tastes, heh.

All I really wanted was to add a intervalometer function, and be able to take timed exposures over 30s ... there's just too much other stuff, and none of it is integrated into Canons menus, its all overlaid on custom menus that are really nerdy to use.

Comments

• Options
    Brett1000Brett1000 Registered Users Posts: 819 Major grins
    edited February 27, 2012
    pierce wrote: »
    anyone here playing around with custom firmware like Magic Lantern for select EOS cameras?

I just tried Magic Lantern on my new EOS 60D.... I'm a computer software/systems engineer by trade, and its a little too nerdy and complicated even for my tastes, heh.

All I really wanted was to add a intervalometer function, and be able to take timed exposures over 30s ... there's just too much other stuff, and none of it is integrated into Canons menus, its all overlaid on custom menus that are really nerdy to use.

I haven't tried it yet but it looks like the CHDK software that ran on Canon P&S cameras
    http://magiclantern.wikia.com/wiki/FAQ
  • Options
    DeVermDeVerm Registered Users Posts: 405 Major grins
    edited February 27, 2012

Hmm yes, but programmable stacking sequences including focus stacking eek7.gif no choice but to download and try it out :)
    ciao!
    Nick.

my equipment: Canon 5D2, 7D, full list here
    my Smugmug site: here
  • Options
    JimKarczewskiJimKarczewski Registered Users Posts: 969 Major grins
    edited February 27, 2012