Options

580exII and the Swim team portrait poolside

vdotmatrixvdotmatrix Registered Users Posts: 343 Major grins
edited March 23, 2012 in Technique
Right off the bat I am new to speedlight location photography and really hate flash photograohy sometimes.

I am shooting the swim team across a 30ft pool.

The test shots were ok.
  • Used and umbrella and the 580exII at about 8-10ft at the end of the pool from the side. threw out a lot of light,
  • ditched the umbrella for a Gary Fong lightsphere and bounced it off the ceiling (maybe 30 ft). got some even light but from the side.
Z0Ey2dmx

My Question: Is the 580EXII strong enough to bouce off the celiing and light a group 30ft across the pool?

I could put this light on a stand above the camera and shoot head on from 30 ft.

Will this work?

Comments

• Options
    BendrBendr Registered Users Posts: 665 Major grins
    edited March 23, 2012
    Your image is not showing. Check the link
  • Options
    edited March 23, 2012
  • Options
    pathfinderpathfinder Super Moderators Posts: 14,696 moderator
    edited March 23, 2012
    I think it depends on how reflective the walls and ceilings are, and what ISO and what aperture you are wanting to use.

At ISO 100, probably not, unless the walls are mirrors, and you're shooting at f2.8 or thereabout.

But at ISO 800 or 1600, certainly, unless the walls are black or dark grey. Think f5.6 or so.

You can always gang two 580s together with a bungee cord, and double your flash output and your flash guide number, or cross light with them with a 2 stop difference in flash output for some shadows.

You are shooting in manual mode aren't you, since the flash to subject distance is not changing.
    Pathfinder - www.pathfinder.smugmug.com

Moderator of the Technique Forum and Finishing School on Dgrin
  • Options
    Moving PicturesMoving Pictures Registered Users Posts: 384 Major grins
    edited March 23, 2012