Options

Help me wrap my head around what I do!

KMpicsKMpics Registered Users Posts: 61 Big grins
edited March 24, 2012 in The Big Picture
I work as a separate business as a photographer with a horseback trail riding outfit. This is something that has evolved from the marketing efforts from me and the stables which has become successful... the idea: sell a printed picture with the stable's logo on it so they can then take it and show it off to potential new customers (I also give them a low-res digital of the print by email if they email me). It works to both our benefits but am I overlooking something?

Particulars:
I do not get paid by the stables to work, so I only get paid unless I sell prints.
The photography business and all of the equipment is provided at my expense.
A work station and power is provided at the stable's expense (no rent for me!)

It took me time to evolve the process and I have built a valuable marketing program I think... so much so, that the owner of the trail riding business misses me when I am not there (if they have under 20 riders for the day, or I have another gig I don't come in).

I lend a hand around the stables and put a kind face to the attraction... even help shovel manure from the staging yard. My experience around horses is valuable because I can look out for the safety of others (and more importantly myself) which eases the mind of the riding outfit because they don't have to babysit me. I interact with the customers only outside of the interaction of the trail guides, who work for wages and tips (they do make less than me at the end of the day). I might take some of their tip money but I try to repay them by photo shoots and helping out with their duties.