What modes do you shoot in?

ecphotomanecphotoman Registered Users Posts: 109 Major grins
edited March 25, 2012 in Technique
I've been doing photography for about 3 years now, and still don't know what mode to use most often. That is to say when to use what modes.
What modes do you use for what situations? I find my self using manual all the time, is that dumb of me...I have lost a few shots trying to set up a shot in manual lol.

Comments

• NikolaiNikolai Registered Users Posts: 19,035 Major grins
    edited March 23, 2012
    ecphotoman wrote: »
    I've been doing photography for about 3 years now, and still don't know what mode to use most often. That is to say when to use what modes.
    What modes do you use for what situations? I find my self using manual all the time, is that dumb of me...I have lost a few shots trying to set up a shot in manual lol.

Unless you're shooting studio or nighscenes, or some other situations where the light doesn't change, shooting manual doesn't give you any advantage and quite often leads to bad shots or missed (due to the extra time you took to set the settings right) opportunities. Shoot in A. Manual is only good for static lighting and some tricky situations (when you typically have time to set it right).
    "May the f/stop be with you!"
  • Moving PicturesMoving Pictures Registered Users Posts: 384 Major grins
    edited March 23, 2012
    In general:

Sports (the bulk of my work): shutter priority
    Newsy portraits: aperture priority
    Strobe-assisted stuff: manual.
    Newspaper photogs specialize in drive-by shootings.
    Forum for Canadian shooters: www.canphoto.net
  • pathfinderpathfinder Super Moderators Posts: 14,694 moderator
    edited March 23, 2012
    I think a pro should know more than just one way to skin a cat.

A real pro will be comfortable shooting in Manual mode, and Av or Tv, and even full on Auto program as needed.