New Event computer Setup

2»

Comments

• DuderinoDuderino Registered Users Posts: 26 Big grins
    edited April 2, 2012
    Thanks Glort. As always, another thoughful insite. I must say, I am just reading the entires in another thread from Pure Energy. Hilarious!!!! Pricing. The least of our problems right?

I am not expecting to set-up a network. I will do maximum, 5 larger events that will use this system this season and I have planned to load the images on to each Vstation individually. This might actually turn out to be a daft idea. It's just that I have no experience with networks and for the few events I am doing it might be over kill to set up a network. If the Jalbums work fine and we have enough time, it might work out better to do it individually. Any advice on setting up the network in baby steps would be appreciated, including the equipment required. I currently have two modern powerful Dell laptops, one old desktop and a Fujifilm Dye Sub printer. The printer only runs off the desktop because the driver doesnt support Win 7!!!

Running your car off of cooking oil. Phenomenal.
    edited April 2, 2012
    I forgot, therefore if I do not run a network, will IE Kiosk still run my galleries, without internet connectivity?
  • DavidTODavidTO Registered Users, Retired Mod Posts: 19,160 Major grins
    edited April 2, 2012
    14326054-L.jpg

I want to see your setup!
    Moderator Emeritus
    Dgrin FAQ | Me | Workshops
    edited April 2, 2012
    Glort, I want to see it too. Tent, trailer, the lot. Give us a visual. You promised for a long time now :D
    edited April 3, 2012
    Thanks for the info again Glort. Shame your selling up. What changed from October when you started writing this thread?

At the moment I am still thinking to use 10 monitors running of one desktop. It seems the cheapest simplest way, as unfortunately I dont have a charity shop almost donating laptops in return for pictures like you :D