Options

A friend of mine - Revisited

Gary752Gary752 Registered Users Posts: 934 Major grins
edited April 9, 2012 in People
This is a photo taken with my first DSLR (D40) before I started shooting in RAW. I felt this was a good one to test Portrait Professional Studio v10 because she had a few skin flaws. This was taken under a big pavillion with available light. Other than touching up a few skin problems, I added catch lights to her eyes, since most people here seem to like them. Feel free to tear this one apart, as I encourage C&C on my stuff, How am I gonna learn to do it right if no one tells me what I'm doing wrong.

My friend Quyen
DSC0111-L.jpg
Click Here for Exinfo

Thanks for looking!

GaryB
GaryB
“The single most important component of a camera is the twelve inches behind it!” - Ansel Adams

Comments

• Options
    HackboneHackbone Registered Users Posts: 4,027 Major grins
    edited April 7, 2012
    I'm big on direction of light. You have the light hitting the part of her face (from nose to ear) as the brightest part. This is called broad lighting and makes the face larger than it is and her being full figure you made it larger than it might be. Exposure and sking tones seem to be pretty even and that is a good thing. The boken helps.
  • Options
    edited April 7, 2012
    Hackbone wrote: »
    I'm big on direction of light. You have the light hitting the part of her face (from nose to ear) as the brightest part. This is called broad lighting and makes the face larger than it is and her being full figure you made it larger than it might be. Exposure and sking tones seem to be pretty even and that is a good thing. The boken helps.

Thanks for the C & C Charles! Since this was available light, I guess I would have had to turn her more to her left, and move my posistion approx. 180 degrees around her, to get the short lighting effect. Am I correct on that assumption? Would you short light all females, or just the heavier ones?

GaryB
    GaryB