Abusive Comments and Thumbs Up/Down

Comments

• AchBeeAchBee Registered Users Posts: 7 Beginner grinner
    edited April 26, 2012
    Gotta chime in here..
    Andy..

First let me congratulate and thank ALL the SmugMuggers below who've contributed to the below string of conversation regarding our Daily Community contributions and the impact of the thumbs down feature.

I am in my third year as a SM Pro account holder - www.louisannimage.com

I've been a pretty vocal thumbs opponent as are the other fine friends and fellow photographers below who've been affected. When my images started disappearing I went through the standard 'chain of command' by contacting the moderator of the Daily Community - got the run-around, contacted SM support to express concern, same answer basically. Nothing but deflection.

The disappointment is real, frustrating and maddening - Consider this: Time spent editing and preparing an image for sharing, Posting the image and creating an appropriate caption - all with the hope of giving your viewers/customers a tiny moment of happiness, prompting a smile, maybe even a moment of learning.. Then to find our image gone from view!?! It's a bad feeling. We do this because we love photography and how it shares our tiny circle of vision with the world. We need no critique that has the power to remove our image from other's view.. It's fine to comment with less than positive critique.. your Comment Approval feature gives us total control to allow the world to see, or not - and that's right-on. But the power to remove an image from view... this has no place in a community of sharing. Who should have the power to remove an image from view? - the owner and SM, no other. Help us.. Stop the frustration and the desire to leave the community and SM altogether!