Options

2005 Subaru WRX

Eric_D70sEric_D70s Registered Users Posts: 6 Beginner grinner
edited May 11, 2012 in Other Cool Shots
Hi Everybody,

This is my first time posting here. Here are a couple of pictures I took early yesterday morning of my 2005 Subaru WRX. I am still learning to shoot cars. Any C&C would be greatly appreciated. Thanks. Eric

Subie-3-L.jpg
Subie-2-L.jpg
Subie-1-L.jpg

Comments

• Options
    lensmolelensmole Registered Users Posts: 1,548 Major grins
    edited April 23, 2012
    Welcome to the forum ! Very tough subject to shoot well, but it looks like you are doing a good job, and are well on your way. Keep posting !
  • Options
    black mambablack mamba Registered Users Posts: 8,321 Major grins
    edited April 23, 2012
    Shooting cars can be a load of fun, but can also be a real challenge. I break the project down to two basic levels....one I call " documentary " shooting, the other I call " artsy " shooting.

In documentary shooting, you're trying to present your subject simply as it is....or as you see it. Avoid fancy angles ( like in your third shot in this series ) as they don't add anything constructive and can be distracting. When possible, choose a simple, sterile background that offers no elements that can compete with the car for attention. You've done well in this series in that regard. When shooting car shows, you lose the element of control over many aspects...car placement, background, lighting, etc., etc. Do the best you can under these circumstances but remember to KEEP IT SIMPLE. Fill the frame with the car, as you've done here. Your main goal should be to give people a look at the car, devoid of any " artsy " interpretations on your part.