Options

Canon Lenses

debeshdebesh Registered Users Posts: 2 Beginner grinner
edited May 23, 2012 in Cameras
Hi all.
I have a new Canon 60D after my old 500D was stolen with all my lenses.
I am an amateur photographer, and planning to buy the following lenses:
1. Tamron SP AF17-50mm F/2.8 XR Di II LD Aspherical
2. Canon EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM
3. Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM
Will Tamron Tele-converter X2 will be useful for me?
Will this gear give me a good cover for portrait, Sport, and landscape photography?:scratch
Thanks

Comments

• Options
    puzzledpaulpuzzledpaul Registered Users Posts: 1,621 Major grins
    edited May 21, 2012
    debesh wrote: »

Probably not, imo.
    Depends whether the TC reports (lens) info to the cam - if it does then the TC + lens combos for the last 2 lenses will be greater than f5.6 - so you'll probably lose AF.

I've got/used the 17-50 (and liked it) but had no dealings with the other 2.

Depends on your main interest(s), but I'd possibly forgo the 50-70 range, go with 2 lenses and get a better quality 70 -300 ... maybe the L?

Another alternative might be a 70-200 f4L (great lens imo) + 1.4x TC ...using the 1.4x on the 17-50 would also cover the 50-70 range too - with less IQ hit.

Sport (especially indoor) would ideally need faster glass than any of the above, however.

pp
  • Options
    scottgee1scottgee1 Registered Users Posts: 230 Major grins
    edited May 21, 2012
    Expect the moderator to move this to the correct forum . . .
  • Options
    DoctorItDoctorIt Administrators Posts: 11,951 moderator
    edited May 21, 2012
    debesh,
    Welcome to Dgrin! Yes, Scott (above) is correct. I moved this thread into our Cameras forum where we discuss gear choices. The Flea Market is for actual buying/selling, not so much for advice. If you get the specific suggestions here and make a decision on what to buy, please come back to the Flea Market and post a "WTB:-"

thanks,
    Erik