Options

Sea Smoke

eoren1eoren1 Registered Users Posts: 2,391 Major grins
edited July 1, 2012 in Landscapes
I had never captured (let alone seen) sea smoke before this morning.

When I saw the temp was supposed to be near zero today with negative wind chills in the morning, I decided to try my hand at capturing this phenomenon. I woke at 6, dressed in a million layers and grabbed some coffee on the way to the harbor. There I found my vantage point and setup.

I started shooting before the sun came up and liked what I was getting. There was a thick low lying cloud cover and the sun took a while to come up behind it. When it did, it produced these beautiful touches of light on the smoke and water. I grabbed three frames before the sun overwhelmed the scene and this was my favorite of the three.

Have a lot more to process from this morning's shoot but wanted to share this one.

i-9J9Wmdr-L.jpg

Comments

• Options
    cj99sicj99si Registered Users Posts: 880 Major grins
    edited January 15, 2012
    I like this a lot! Betting it would be killer in black and white!
  • Options
    edited January 15, 2012
    Thanks. Got a few others from the set that I was thinking of doing in b/w. Couldn't give up the color on the smoke for this one though
  • Options
    kdogkdog Administrators Posts: 11,681 moderator
    edited January 15, 2012
    I've never seen that before. eek7.gif

Great job, Eyal. thumb.gif
  • Options
    edited January 15, 2012
    Having grown up in LA, I hadn't either! Literally steam coming off the ocean which, at about 50F right now was a veritable steam bath in comparison to the negative who-knows-what air temp.
  • Options
    NorthernFocusNorthernFocus Registered Users Posts: 1,347 Major grins
    edited January 15, 2012
    Great image. Good lighting and nicely framed with the lighthouse. Well done.
    Dan

My Photo Gallery:Northern Focus Photography
    I wish I was half the man that my dog thinks I am...
  • Options