Options

Offering a $ 50 referral bonus?

Bryans12vBryans12v Registered Users Posts: 362 Major grins
edited July 17, 2012 in Mind Your Own Business
Id like to offer friends of mine a referral bonus for referring wedding clients to me but have just read alot of mixed words on this matter. Im sure there would have to be alot of fine print but I think it would be a great way to drive in business. Im assuming I would have to pay them by check and it would have to be claimed as income on thier part but other than that, I dont see why this would be considered a bad thing. Especially with facebook. I can post a not and let all my friends share it and can hit a massive number of potential clients.

What are some of all your thoughts here?

Comments

• Options
    ian408ian408 Administrators Posts: 21,911 moderator
    edited July 16, 2012
    Your referral bonus could also be valued at $50 for services you offer. So prints, sitting fees, etc..

I'm no tax expert and I wouldn't want to tell you how to advise those who received the bonus (if you offer cash) except to say "you're responsible for any tax liabilities and any questions should be referred to your tax professional." or something like that.
    Moderator Journeys/Sports/Big Picture :: Need some help with dgrin?
  • Options
    SamSam Registered Users Posts: 7,419 Major grins
    edited July 16, 2012
    Bryans12v wrote: »
    Id like to offer friends of mine a referral bonus for referring wedding clients to me but have just read alot of mixed words on this matter. Im sure there would have to be alot of fine print but I think it would be a great way to drive in business. Im assuming I would have to pay them by check and it would have to be claimed as income on thier part but other than that, I dont see why this would be considered a bad thing. Especially with facebook. I can post a not and let all my friends share it and can hit a massive number of potential clients.

What are some of all your thoughts here?

Bryan,