Options

College sports pictures?

DodgeV83DodgeV83 Registered Users Posts: 379 Major grins
edited October 14, 2005 in Mind Your Own Business
I am on the verge of buying a DSLR to take pictures of my old college team. Do I need a license or anything to be able to make profits on the pics?

Comments

• Options
    AndyAndy Registered Users Posts: 50,016 Major grins
    edited September 22, 2005
    DodgeV83 wrote:
    I am on the verge of buying a DSLR to take pictures of my old college team. Do I need a license or anything to be able to make profits on the pics?

you need permission from the ncaa, typically. go to the ncaa website, and poke around, you'll find their legal stuff.
  • Options
    flyingpylonflyingpylon Registered Users Posts: 260 Major grins
    Depends on the school and how aggresively they want to enforce the protection of their name/mascot/brand. You might need to have a licensing agreement arranged with them.

That said, I'm no lawyer, and there's always the "do it and see what happens" approach...
  • Options
    KhaosKhaos Registered Users Posts: 2,435 Major grins

That said, I'm no lawyer, and there's always the "do it and see what happens" approach...
    I wouldn't recommend that.
    Not only is college sports and the resulting mascots and school colors able to bring in money to the school, the school itself will be very reputation conscious.

I would see what their licensing stance is first.
  • Options
    Khaos wrote:
    I wouldn't recommend that.
    Not only is college sports and the resulting mascots and school colors able to bring in money to the school, the school itself will be very reputation conscious.

I would see what their licensing stance is first.