Wanting to jump out of auto

Daniel UKDaniel UK Registered Users Posts: 12 Big grins
edited July 26, 2012 in Technique
Hi everyone,

I'm basically new to photography, My Kit is a Nikon D5000 with default 18-55mm lens, I've purchased a 55-200mm lens too.

I've had the camera a couple of years now, my main reason for buying the camera was to capture the fun and adventures undertaken by the Scout Group I volunteer with. So we manage to get in quite a few different situations, and most of the time, things happen very fast.

If I'm able to set up or recreate possible shots, or something isn't a 'it's going to happen once so make sure you get a good photo', I do try to mess around in manual or shutter priority mode.

But.... How do I make the leap from relying on auto too much and jumping in with manual?

Here is one shot taken back in 2010 in Kandersteg, Switzerland. I was quite happy with the shot and it has served its purpose for leaflets and on our website, but I'm sure you all could give me some advice on how I could have improved it.

958531703_dix3S-L.jpg

Looking forward to all your advice.

Thanks

Daniel

Comments

• basfltbasflt Registered Users Posts: 1,882 Major grins
    edited July 15, 2012
    my 2 penny's

for action shots like this , stick with SS priority
    go for manual , if you have plenty time to adjust settings

leave alone full auto-mode
  • Art ScottArt Scott Registered Users Posts: 8,959 Major grins
    edited July 15, 2012
    basflt wrote: »
    my 2 penny's

for action shots like this , stick with SS priority
    go for manual , if you have plenty time to adjust settings

leave alone full auto-mode