Pro Account increase

Comments

• davet01davet01 Registered Users Posts: 1 Beginner grinner
    edited September 4, 2012
    smugMug increase
    I am a professional and have been with SmugMug for some time. If you are using SmugMug to sell your product, you will have to go with their Pro account because the basic account will only allow you and your customers to purchase prints at cost. You can't markup pricing to your customers now at that level. You only get at-cost pricing and watermarking of your images which is not very useful for someone trying to make income with photography.

Their*rationale for drastically increased prices, they say, is to provide better services in the future for their*customers.*I think they got it wrong. Why should loyal customers, who have made SmugMug the successful company that they are pay in advance for "Promised" services they may or may not*be able to deliver?*

Either SmugMug*hasn't done a good job of thinking this through or there is more to this then they are telling us. The people that this really hurts,( i.e. those doing part-time photography or those really struggling to make ends meet) is the smaller customer because they will find it difficult to*absorb*the price increase. And frankly, these people don't use that much of SmugMug's bandwidth and storage anyway. It's the established pros and video providers who are allowed to upload*unlimited*numbers of high-res images and HD video which takes massive*bandwidth*and storage. Why isn't SmugMug charging those users a premium because they use more resources than others who use less resources but still need the ability to have the ecommerce use of SmugMug?