Options

Canon 5dII vs 5dIII

MommajojoMommajojo Registered Users Posts: 22 Big grins
edited September 16, 2012 in Cameras
I have saved up enough for the 5dII but now I am not sure if I should hold out and save more more the 5dIII I am a natural light portrait photographer. I photograph 80 percent outdoors. Any advice would be great. THANK YOU!!!

Comments

• Options
    ziggy53ziggy53 Super Moderators Posts: 23,911 moderator
    edited September 6, 2012
    The Canon 5D MKIII provides a number of advantages over the 5D MKII, but the greatest advantage is in the AF section, IMO. If rapid and accurate autofocus is one of your criteria for purchase then the 5D MKIII might be advantageous.

I still use a 5D MKII for wedding formals and portraiture, and I don't really feel a pressing need to upgrade. (It would be nice but not necessary.)

Regardless of which you purchase I still highly recommend some sort of device with a focus assist lamp. Both bodies benefit from a focus assist lamp, the 5D MKII moreso. The AF-Assist of the 580EX speedlite is wonderful in that it is bright and provides a pattern that lenses find easily.

If you give the 5D MKII a good lens and good light it can do amazing things for you:

i-LpCwJKX.jpg

i-KFvCXQR.jpg

i-Mt6prDw.jpg

i-zH4ZXrR.jpg

1125881067_EWAVE-O.jpg

802303379_Gh58f-O.jpg
    ziggy53
    Moderator of the Cameras and Accessories forums
  • Options
    Matthew SavilleMatthew Saville Registered Users, Retired Mod Posts: 3,352 Major grins
    edited September 6, 2012