The New Gap in SmugMug Services

Comments

• BaldyBaldy Registered Users, Super Moderators Posts: 2,853 moderator
    edited September 10, 2012
    Hey Neil,

Thanks for the candid response and sticking with us for awhile longer. Of course it kills us to read these, especially the thought of burning the trust in 14 days that we tried to hard to win over 7 years.

I studied Neflix's price change deeply before we made ours and it's probably one of the things that caused us to wait longer than we should have done, and then make a bigger raise than we wanted to make. I didn't envy their situation at all, because Hollywood got sick of seeing unlimited streaming for pennies per click of The Wizard of Oz, so they upped what they were charging Netflix for content. It seemed to me that Netflix had an awful choice: either raise prices and make many of their customers mad (800,000 abandoned them), or lose so much content that all of their customers get mad. In their case, they are doing well now, but everyone will forever remember the raise in price.

The choices for us seemed similar. When cloud storage failed to drop in cost like consumer storage did, we could have gone to a lower grade of storage like almost all our competitors, cut back on our heroes, abandoned online chat, etc., but we felt those things would make all our customers unhappy.

Also, we could have chosen to rush out some of the things we're working on and make them less great, but we thought that this time we wanted to make them better than we could if we rushed them out. If you're wondering why Don and I are posting less now, it's because we feel that the best thing we can do now is immerse ourselves in the improvements we've said we're working on.

I hope this helps.

All the best,
    Baldy
  • GRBlizzGRBlizz Registered Users Posts: 107 Major grins
    Baldy wrote: »
    Hey Neil,