Options

oAuth & API help for Newbie

lmissaklmissak Registered Users Posts: 3 Beginner grinner
Hi, I just joined the forum and was looking into how to use oAuth and the API. I have been playing around with the javascript oAuth library found here http://oauth.googlecode.com/svn/code/javascript/. I've never used oAuth before and am confused on a few things. The example page from the above link has a "Get Request Token" form which generates an oauth_timestamp, oauth_nonce, oauth_signature, oauth_token and oath_token_secret using HMAC-SHA1. It then has an "Authorize" form which takes the request token value and sends it to http://api.smugmug.com/services/oauth/authorize.mg to bring up the SmugMug Authorize page where i click on the Authorize button and my App gets authorized. That's all good. What I don't understand is what do I do next????

So my app is authorized. Now, lets say, I want to create a new album. Using http://api.smugmug.com/services/api/json/1.3.0/ and method=smugmug.albums.create, where do I get the required oauth arguments from? Do i have to generate them each time I make one of these API calls or do i use the same values that I used to authorize the app in the first place? Sorry if this sounds totally basic but I've never done something like this before an I'm totally lost and haven't found any good examples of how to do it. :(

Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks!

Comments

• Options
    PharfignewtonPharfignewton Registered Users Posts: 9 Beginner grinner
    edited October 11, 2012
    1. use your OAuthSecret and APIKey and request a temporary ( < 30 min ? ) token Id/Secret with smugmug.auth.getRequestToken

2. generate an authorization url using your APIkey, temporary Token Id/Secret, Access level, and Permission Level

3. ask user authorize your app via the above url

4. use your OAuthSecret, APIKey, temp Token Id and Secret, call smugmug.auth.getAccessToken for a persistent Token ID and Token Secret