Options

Which Mac?

laurenornotlaurenornot Registered Users Posts: 167 Major grins
edited October 29, 2012 in Digital Darkroom
Ok, so this might sound ridiculous to most of you, but I'm putting it out there anyway. Now, up front let me say that in my day job I am an Apple laptop technician, so I know quite a bit about 'em - but what I'm asking here is regarding actual user experience, and a few techie questions about Lightroom. So:

It's time for a new laptop. My mid-2009, 2.66GHz Intel Core2Duo with 8GB RAM and a 1TB drive is lagging like crazy when I try to edit D800 RAW files in Lightroom 4.

I've been test driving a 2011 MacBook Air, 1.7GHz i7 with 4GB RAM and a 128GB SSD, and LR has been running incredibly fast in comparison. I attribute that mostly to the SSD, but it's also worth mentioning that before importing the NEFs into LR, I converted them to DNGs to save on disk space. (Does that matter? I don't know, hoping to find out more about DNG vs RAW in general.)

*EDITED TO REMOVE EXTRANEOUS INFORMATION* Long story short, I'm in the market for a new field machine, something I can bring to a gig or a destination wedding or any other number of locations, and I'm wondering, is the MBA is too light for basic editing? Slash is the rMBP overkill? It would be a barebones machine, really only hosting Lightroom 4 and my images. Anything else I wanna do (chat, web surf, listen to music) I can do on my iPad.

And to the actual questions: does anyone have real life field experience running LR4 on a current MacBook Air? I guess what I'm really asking is if i can comfortably get away with getting one, because I love how small it is. See also: regarding Lightroom, is a fast processor and lots of RAM "more important" than the speed of an SSD? Is Lightroom 4 in particular just a power hog compared to 3? Am I losing my mind? (Yes.) Is it stupid of me to sacrifice these things in favor of a much more portable machine?

HELP ME GURUS, YOU'RE MY ONLY HOPE.

Comments

• Options