Features to look for in a new computer...

[Deleted User][Deleted User] Big grinsLouisville, KYPosts: 1 Big grins
edited December 18, 2012 in Digital Darkroom
I used to share a desktop computer at home. Once I started taking photography more seriously, I wanted a computer I didn't share, so purchased a Dell Studio 15 Notebook. It's taken with me on trips and locked with a password at home or away, so I'm the only user. I'll skip the boring details, but need to move back to a desktop...one that will mostly be used for photography. I'm not a pro, but want a good one...have been the Apple route and do not want to switch back, so am looking for a PC.

My question is about choosing a monitor. For quality, do I look at resolution? If so, what resolution should I be looking for. I want a large screen, maybe 22-24 inches. I've considered plugging my laptop into a second monitor, but have decided to go with a complete desktop.

Could someone give me suggestions of what I should look for in a new computer...not a particular one, but features that would work well with editing photographs? To those who respond, I appreciate your input.

Comments

• cmasoncmason Registered Users Posts: 2,506 Major grins
    edited December 6, 2012
    For a monitor, get one that is an IPS monitor. It can be sometimes hard to find which ones are IPS, but I recommend the Dell Ultrasharp, which are very vocal about IPS: http://accessories.us.dell.com/sna/sna.aspx?c=us&cs=19&l=en&s=dhs&~topic=ultrasharp_monitor (look for IPS logo). After that, its up to you regarding size and resolution, but more pixels are better. The Dell U2410 is an extremely well respected monitor.