Options

Should I sell out?

DemianDemian Registered Users Posts: 211 Major grins
edited December 31, 2012 in Mind Your Own Business
I do photography for my own interest, not professionally or anything. Lately though, I've been volunteering for a local nonprofit. Mostly taking photos, although I also did a commercial for them (it's the only video I've ever produced :X)

I've also been getting some requests for work. I don't think I'm particularly good, and my gear is a little lacking... but I can definitely use the money, and it's time I'd just be playing video games anyways.

What would you do?

Comments

• Options
    mercphotomercphoto Registered Users Posts: 4,550 Major grins
    edited December 12, 2012
    When I started shooting racing photography (amateur level racing) back in 2004 one thing I had no idea about was how to run a business. How to know what my costs were, what my future expenses would be, the implication to personal taxes, whether I needed to carry any additional insurance, etc. If you don't know the answers to any of those questions either I strongly suggest, from perosnal experience, learning up about them before taking the plunge. The end result for me was a lot of work over almost 8 years at what amounts to a financial wash after all things were considered.

EIther continue to do the non-profit stuff as a volunteer. Or take the plunge and learn how to run a real business and do it that way. But don't wade. :)
    Bill Jurasz - Mercury Photography - Cedar Park, TX
    A former sports shooter
    Follow me at: https://www.flickr.com/photos/bjurasz/
    My Etsy store: https://www.etsy.com/shop/mercphoto?ref=hdr_shop_menu
  • Options
    NikonsandVstromsNikonsandVstroms Registered Users Posts: 990 Major grins
    edited December 28, 2012