Options

My First Engagement Shoot

mattmccmattmcc Registered Users Posts: 55 Big grins
edited January 18, 2013 in Weddings
Hi all! Long time browser...rare poster.

I've been doing my own hobbyist thing for nearly a decade now and only recently have I taken steps necessary to "go legit", as it were. I'm an ICU nurse by trade, but I've drawn inspiration and encouragement from one of my fellow RNs who does photography full time (nursing on the side) and actually runs his own studio.

Anyways, my step-sister, whom I've only met once before (my dad eloped/remarried literally last month), asked me if I'd be interested in doing a few shots for them. The weather didn't quite work out as planned-- I was expecting great golden hour stuff over the waterway, but it was dull, overcast, and occasionally misty. Never the less, I'm fairly happy with what I was able to produce and I am also able to deconstruct numerous flaws in my work that will hopefully lead to better results next time. These few shots are my favorite of the bunch. Let me know what you think-- I really appreciate any advice to help me improve. All shots with 7D and either 70-200 f2.8 IS I or the nifty 50 and a 430exI on a radio trigger shot through umbrella (dual purpose at times!).

1)MCC_3536-L.jpg

2)MCC_3591-L.jpg

3)MCC_3615-L.jpg

4)MCC_3620-L.jpg

5)MCC_3625-L.jpg

6)MCC_3638-L.jpg

7)MCC_3658-L.jpg

8)MCC_3709-L.jpg

9)MCC_3749-L.jpg

10)MCC_3770-2-L.jpg

11)MCC_3839-L.jpg

12)MCC_3855-L.jpg

13)MCC_3554-L.jpg