How much to charge for a sitting

macmasseymacmassey Registered Users Posts: 65 Big grins
edited February 8, 2013 in Mind Your Own Business
How much should I charge to go over to someone's house to shoot photos of their pet or child? I am not a pro, more like an advanced amateur. I do not have any additional lighting gear other than my Canon 430 EXII Speedlite and my Canon 17-55mm 2.8 lens on my trusty Canon 40D. I've gotten some wonderful pet and people shots using that combination just by being careful how I use natural light. But bottom line is I am trying to figure out a fee schedule for someone at my level. Part 2 of my question is charging for prints. I was figuring on simply setting up a passworded gallery on my Smugmug Pro site where they can buy what ever they want. Any ideas would be greatly appreciated!

Comments

• macmasseymacmassey Registered Users Posts: 65 Big grins
    edited February 5, 2013
    I've looked at some of the other similar threads on this and I'm just basically looking for what to charge to drive over to someone's home for an hour or two and get photos of their new baby, etc. I guess a one time fee and then they can just order prints off my pro site.
  • sweet carolinesweet caroline Registered Users Posts: 1,589 Major grins
    edited February 5, 2013
    Make sure you look at state laws regrading businesses and sales tax before you start charging. When I first started charging for portrait sessions, I charged a $75 session fee for an hour shoot. After a few months, I raised it to $125. Now it's significantly more. Your pricing will depend on regional rates and your business model.
    edited February 5, 2013
    Sounds reasonable. Thanks for the tip and I will check out the local sales tax info.
  • HackboneHackbone Registered Users Posts: 4,027 Major grins
    edited February 5, 2013