Options

Low-Light Action Shots (in need of some help)

midnightradiomidnightradio Registered Users Posts: 1 Beginner grinner
edited February 6, 2013 in Technique
I'm an amateur photographer who is slowly turning my love for the craft into a second career. My primary focus (no pun intended) is on performance photography, mainly theatre. Recently I've been having trouble achieving very sharp images, and I'm looking for some guidance as to what I'm doing wrong.

My primary body is the Canon 7D, also using my older Rebel XTi as a second body. I use the Canon 70-200mm 2.8 IS II and 17-55mm 2.8 IS lenses, varying which lens goes on which body depending on the size of the theater. The majority of my shots with the 70-200 are very sharp, which isn't quite the case for the 17-55. I used to shoot mainly in aperture priority mode, but have recently forced myself to learn to operate in manual - I try not to shoot slower than 1/125 (to stop the action), and not higher than ISO 1600 if I can help it.

I like to keep the aperture at 2.8 (since I'm using these very fast lenses!), but I'm having trouble compensating for depth of field when all the subjects aren't on the same plane. Is there anything to be done, when shooting with a fast lens in low light, when you want all the subject to be in sharp focus? Shooting at 2.8 doesn't seem to be the answer, but I lose the fast shutter speed ability when I bring the aperture down to 5.6 or so. I do shoot RAW, but even Lightroom can't recover that much underexposure.

I'm guessing this is one of the primary reasons for my lack-of-sharpness problem, though I'd be curious to hear if anyone can think of what else it might be. Metering? I've never had success metering in anything other than evaluative, and I usually don't risk trying at a fast-paced shoot where I can't afford to lose a couple shots experimenting.

Any thoughts are greatly appreciated!

Comments

• Options
    perronefordperroneford Registered Users Posts: 550 Major grins