Options

Time to upgrade from my Nikon D80 - your thoughts?

[Deleted User][Deleted User] Beginner grinnerPosts: 0 Big grins
edited February 14, 2013 in Cameras
Hey all,

I'm thinking it's time to upgrade from my D80 to something that's a bit newer. I love my D80, but the 10 megapixels and some of the features are a bit limited for what I do today (prints, large format albums, posters, etc.). I'm just an amateur photographer but I do sometimes shoot for work (product or architectural photography), and I do travel a lot as well. I have a few lenses that I want to keep (Sigma 10-20, Nikkor 18-200 and 50mm/1.8) , so I'm sticking with Nikon for the foreseeable future.

I have glanced at a couple of models, but with all the newer tech built into today's SLRs (like flip-out LCD screens, which I don't particularly care for) I don't want to accidentally sacrifice some of the more professional features that I do use on my D80. I always shoot raw and do my own post, so I don't care about cameras that have great optimization options for JPEGs. Though I suppose fun stuff like built-in HDR could come in handy from time to time. It's not a make-or-break feature though.

PRICE: I'm not looking for top of the line; I would love to keep my spend under $1,000 (I spent around $800 on the D80 when new, so I guess I'm looking for today's "equivalent" model, if it exists). I'm open to your suggestions or experiences. Let me know what you think I can get for a used D80 body as well, still in great shape.

Thanks!

Comments

• Options
    ziggy53ziggy53 Super Moderators Posts: 23,871 moderator
    edited February 12, 2013