New Computer...good brand

ZetZet Registered Users Posts: 77 Big grins
edited March 5, 2013 in Digital Darkroom
Hi,

I think it is time to invest in a new computer. What do you recommend?
I'm a part time photographer. Just starting out. I do infants/children/family. Right now I use Elements but would eventually like to purchase full PS. Budget is about $1K.

Thank you in advance for your help.

Elisete

Comments

• RichardRichard Administrators, Vanilla Admin Posts: 19,893 moderator
    edited February 13, 2013
    Desktop or laptop? Windows or Mac? ear.gif
  • ZetZet Registered Users Posts: 77 Big grins
    edited February 13, 2013
    Laptop (would consider a tesktop if it is best). Windows. Thank you
  • RichardRichard Administrators, Vanilla Admin Posts: 19,893 moderator
    edited February 13, 2013
    I would look first at the Lenovo ThinkPad series, then at one of the higher-end Asus machines. Seems like there's not a whole lot of innovation in laptops these days--all the engineers are too busy designing tablets and cell phones.
  • ZBlackZBlack Registered Users Posts: 337 Major grins
    edited February 13, 2013
    I'd also check out some of the higher end Samsung laptops. The 7 and 9 series are pretty solid. I don't know how they stack up to other for price vs performance compared to other brands.

As others have said, Lenovo is a great choice with plenty of options.

For 2k, and our could get a VERY beefy desktop for far less than a laptop with the same specs, but of course you lose the portability. Without spending loads on desktop monitors, 2k is a high budget and you could get an incredible machine.
  • EaracheEarache Registered Users Posts: 3,533 Major grins
    edited February 13, 2013
    I have had good experiences with Dell laptops - less so with HP, heat dissipation problems.
    Laptops have the benefit of portability, but if hauled around are vulnerable to damage and theft, and are expensive to repair.