Kaavie 3 in 1 Pocket Size White Balance & Gray Cards

canon400dcanon400d Banned Posts: 2,826 Major grins
edited February 21, 2013 in Technique
I would appreciate if someone can advise me on the use of these white balance and gray cards as I have never used them before. I believe these cards are the size of a credit card. I always set the white balance to Cloudy when taking landscapes etc and the remainder of the time it is set on AWB. I do use PS CS5.
Thanks
Bob

Comments

• ziggy53ziggy53 Super Moderators Posts: 23,765 moderator
    edited February 21, 2013
    I moved this to the Technique forum since this seems to be a question about setting white balance and exposure with the assistance of devices like the Kaavie 3 in 1 Pocket Size White Balance & Gray Cards.

I am concerned about reading a statement like "I always set the white balance to Cloudy when taking landscapes etc and the remainder of the time it is set on AWB.", because there are many times when you need to use (or perhaps should be using) another setting for white balance.

Cloudy White Balance is a specific setting to use under cloudy outside conditions and between normal daylight hours. This setting attempts to give you desirable results by adjusting white balance to around 6,000K, which should produce fairly natural color under some cloudy conditions, warm colors under daylight conditions, and cool colors under sunrise/sunset conditions.

Ideally, I recommend shooting with AWB and then recording the image in RAW format (CR2 files if you still shoot Canon cameras.) This should give you a reasonable starting point, and then you would set the actual white balance (WB) and tint in post-production (assuming an Adobe ACR workflow). (If you use the Canon Digital Photo Professional (DPP) you can expect that the in-camera WB settings are more consistent to your desired WB settings, but not so with Adobe ACR, which often doesn't accurately honor manufacturer WB settings).