Options

Editing Recommendations

travischancetravischance Registered Users Posts: 642 Major grins
edited March 9, 2013 in Video
While I'm not a complete noob to video, I'm very much an infant & am seeking advice/direction on editing software. I recently purchased a GoPro to make short 3-5 minute videos of the kids, vacations, holidays, birthdays, etc.

I've downloaded trial versions of Corel VideoStudio Pro X5 & Sony Vegas Studio Platinum 5 (and yes I'm very much overwhelmed). Ideally, I'd like to be able to make really nice, yet simple short films. What are your recommendations on software? Thanks!
Travis M. Chance
twin Mark IV's & a bunch of "L" glass
sitefacebook

Comments

• Options
    ziggy53ziggy53 Super Moderators Posts: 23,799 moderator
    edited March 5, 2013
    Corel VideoStudio Pro X5 (VSP) is an excellent all-rounder for traditional long-format and for short format video (like TV commercials and short "indie-style" video), and in resolutions from SD (DV format) and through Full-HD including 1080P60. VSP-X6 (current version) claims 4K resolution support, but I haven't tested that.

It's not very efficient for multi-camera stuff, but I did a couple of multi-camera shoots in 2012 and it can get the job done.

VSP has a few features which I love:
    Auto Music Maker (SmartSound): This is an excellent software for creating custom-length audio intros, transitions and stingers. Basically, this capability alone can justify the cost of VSP. (In other words, a small music library, customized to your production needs, is included in VSP.)

Multi-Trim Edit: You set In and Out points, and when you close the tool it automatically extracts the selected edits, discarding un-selected material. Includes mouse-scrubbing and a virtual, variable-speed, jog-wheel, so if you don't have a hardware controller you can use keyboard and mouse very efficiently. Fast and easy it just plain works.