Whats the most useful accessory to the kit bag ?

LinusMLinusM Registered Users Posts: 17 Big grins
edited May 9, 2013 in Video
Hi

I'm really new to video work but want to start familiarising myself more with video.

So from making the transition from being purely a stills photography guy, into video work I wanted to ask this.

what single piece of kit has proved the most useful and worth while investment?

Comments

• angevin1angevin1 Registered Users Posts: 3,403 Major grins
    edited April 1, 2013
    LinusM wrote: »
    Hi

I'm really new to video work but want to start familiarising myself more with video.

So from making the transition from being purely a stills photography guy, into video work I wanted to ask this.

what single piece of kit has proved the most useful and worth while investment?

Hi Linus, Looked over your Blog and Work. Fabulous imagery!

I take it your query is in relation to Wedding video? I so and if you want specifics on that from me, I cannot help. But before I looked at your blog, I looked at your question and had an answer come to mind. That answer is the same after I looked over your work. Script. Story telling. And you appear to already have that going for you. To me, that is the Hallmark of video/cinematography. I'm certain videographers could not do without some "thing" in their kit. But I say imagination, script and storytelling in that order are paramount.

I will tell you this too. Video, just like those stills you have perfected is not much different. The biggie is still getting it as good as possible into the camera. All the rules still apply as does breaking them for effect.

For actual kit it really is just like stills as to know what is needed before hand and bringing it along. For me that too often meant a truck load (literal) of goods; lighting, stands and grip gear. Too much stuff!

If you want more specific's, be more specific in your question by telling folks what your intention is.

cheers,
    tom wise