Options

Traveling photogs: advice on finding plane tickets

michaelglennmichaelglenn Registered Users Posts: 442 Major grins
edited April 13, 2013 in Weddings
So I recently have the opportunity to fly out to San Jose, California to second shoot a double header on the 28th and 29th of June. The photographer will be covering my flight, but we want to find a solid deal on flights. For those that do travel, what is your method to find the best deals? I'm currently using Kayak and Airfare Watchdog to check out prices. I've heard good things about Flight Fox, but I haven't used it. Just curious what I should do? Some sources have told me to wait six weeks before the flight to find a deal. I've heard Tuesdays around 3pm are the best times to buy tickets. I'm new to this, so I figured I'd leave it up to you guys. How do you go about buying plane tickets to travel?

P.S- this is my first time traveling across the US. I'm really excited :thumb
wedding portfolio michaelglennphoto.com
fashion portfolio michaelglennfashion.com

Comments

• Options
    Moogle PepperMoogle Pepper Registered Users Posts: 2,950 Major grins
    edited April 8, 2013
    I stick with kayak too. Although sometimes the airline's own site sometimes, not often, offer better fares.
    Food & Culture.
    www.tednghiem.com
  • Options
    ssimmonsphotossimmonsphoto Registered Users Posts: 424 Major grins
    edited April 10, 2013
    I think it depends on the carrier. I'm flying Delta this weekend and prices on their site match what I find on the deal sites. So I bought directly from them. If you are at all flexible on dates, don't forget to use the +/- a couple days option when you search. You might save a bundle if you fly in a day before (or fly out a day later) you were planning to.
    Website (hosted by Zenfolio after 6.5 years with SmugMug) | Blog (hosted by Zenfolio) | Tave User
  • Options
    FoquesFoques Registered Users Posts: 1,951 Major grins
    edited April 10, 2013