Options

New and looking for some help

Mr SmileyMr Smiley Registered Users Posts: 3 Beginner grinner
edited May 17, 2013 in Cameras
Ive used various point and shoot cameras in the past, and have decided that id like to move into DSLR's. Ive read some here and there, and narrowed my search down to either a Nikon D5200 or a D7100.

Im really leaning toward the D7100.

I have been looking at lenses and have come to a area i know very little about. The two lenses im looking at are AF-S DX nikkor 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6g ED VR (5.8x). This is the Zoom Lens. And the AF-S DX NIKKOR 55-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED VR (5.5x) the Super-telephoto zoom lens.

Im looking for an all around shooting lens for stills, family pictures, and family vacations. I may as time goes on get more into things, but Im just starting out. I have a budget of about $1600 to get started.

Thank you for your help in advance.

Comments

• Options
    CRP6001CRP6001 Registered Users Posts: 7 Beginner grinner
    edited May 16, 2013
    The D7100 works with every Nikon lens made since 1977, and is also compatible with most
    older lenses that have been AI converted, making it the more versatile choice. I personally
    would not start out with two zooms with overlapping ranges. With the 18-105 and 55-300
    you would be duplicating the range from 55-105. On DX, I would want a wide zoom, such as a Nikon
    10-24 or 12-24, and a fast single focal length lens like the 35 1.8 DX or 50 1.8. Any number of
    telephoto lenses could fill out the long end. Don't worry about covering every millimeter.
  • Options
    ziggy53ziggy53 Super Moderators Posts: 23,871 moderator
    edited May 16, 2013
    I strongly recommend allowing more budget for the lenses, unless you are just looking to document and snapshot. The images that people remember are the ones which have some sort of "wow" factor, and most consumer lenses just don't pull it off very frequently.