Options

Long Time No See and a Question :)

Marcin WuuMarcin Wuu Registered Users Posts: 87 Big grins
edited May 27, 2013 in People
Hi there, it's been a while.
So I'll give you a couple of b&w's and a question that's been bothering me for a while.

The images first:

I. You are so SCI-FI

dsc06730editediteditedi.jpg

II. Elstree

dsc06616editeditedit.jpg

Cute, aren't they :D

Now for the question.
I spent a day browsing various photographic forums, sites, blogs and whatnot, to grok the trends in today's portraiture and I noticed no one, and I mean it literally, no one is doing a classic formal portraiture. You know, Karsh style. There's a lot of portraits, but it's mostly a from-the-top-looking-up-lots-of-softboxes-type of work. So this question goes to all of you pros - why? Folks don't like classic look? Too retro? Too much of the old passe? They don't sell? As you can see I follow the classic trends and I have pretty positive feedback sofar. But then, I am not a professional, it's just a hobby for me, a pastime if you will. I don't have to cater to clients needs or wants, quite the contrary, if someone wants a portrait by me, they have to follow my rules...
So, to sum it up - what's wrong with classic?
I'm a lazy portraitist. I only shoot beautiful women.

Comments

• Options
    Bryce WilsonBryce Wilson Registered Users Posts: 1,586 Major grins
    edited May 27, 2013
    I still shoot (and prefer/enjoy) classic style portraits when photographing the proper subjects. Alas, I have found that the under 35 crowd prefer images that lean more toward "fun" much more than "powerful" and "poignant" these days.

Personally, I think people have been inundated with so many images over the past few years that have been done in the current (much more forgiving) style, that when they see a true classic that is supposed to evoke a feeling through expression and dramatic light, they think it's a poorly done image.