Anyone on Ubuntu?

babowcbabowc Registered Users Posts: 510 Major grins
edited April 9, 2015 in Digital Darkroom
Is anyone using linux for PP?
I just converted one of my laptops to Ubuntu 13.04 and it is fantastic... Super easy to use.

It was Win8, I hated it. So I tried Win7, but it wouldn't take for some reason. My final choice was Ubuntu, only to see what its like, and I am in love! Only problem.. I want LR on it, but no one seems to have a solution. :cry
-Mike Jin
D800
16/2.8, f1.4G primes, f2.8 trio, 105/200 macro, SB900.
It never gets easier, you just get better.

Comments

• merlinusmerlinus Registered Users Posts: 98 Big grins
    edited August 8, 2013
    Hi, and welcome to Ubuntu. I have been using it for about 7 years now, on all four of my computers.

You can try wine, which is a windows emulator, or set up a VM using VirtualBox.

I use RawTherapee, LightZone and Gimp for pp. DarkTable is an LR-type app. But I never miss those commercial apps!!
    -merlin
    Ubuntu Linux - LightZone - GIMP
    Visit my gallery
  • babowcbabowc Registered Users Posts: 510 Major grins
    edited August 8, 2013
    I hear that the problem with wine is that it'll slow the processes down dramatically..
    I saw LR5 was a bit faster than LR4, but still I can't imagine it being any slower! :/
    -Mike Jin
    D800
    edited August 9, 2013
    Never used wine nor LR, so cannot say. My recommendation is to try the apps I mentioned -- maybe you'll never use commercial software again, like me!
    -merlin
    Visit my gallery
  • Matt518Matt518 Registered Users Posts: 118 Major grins
    edited August 9, 2013