Options

Moving from a D300.. help me choose?

Jassack04Jassack04 Registered Users Posts: 9 Beginner grinner
edited August 27, 2013 in Cameras
Hey All,

Just looking to see if I can get any advice here. I've been doing some part-time wedding photography for the last 5 years and my D300 and D200 backup have treated me well, but are practically dinosaurs (D200 especially!). I've stopped taking any paid gigs for the foreseeable future (next year at least) in hopes of rebuilding my creativity and increasing my skills, just hoping to enjoy myself. I've really not moved on from the D300 due to there not being a clear 'equivalent' Nikon available in the pro-DX format range. I've waited so long that I am now going to completely lose my butt when I sell these old guys, but oh well!

My main question is, in moving from a D300, is the D7100 the most logical step? I'm not super interested in full frame, as I don't personally see the D600 having many advantages over the D7100 aside from the full frame sensor, and the D800 is out of the question due to price. Are there any other cameras I'm missing that will be a big improvement over my D300 regarding ISO performance and still being pretty rugged/pro oriented under $2k?

I am completely ok with DX format, I see no need to go to full frame aside from additional low-light performance. I also don't NEED 24megapixels, but it looks like that's pretty much what I'm gonna get, haha.

I realize there might be other forums that are better to ask, but I love Smugmug, and have seen a pretty awesome community here (though I don't personally post much).

Thanks for the thoughts!

Comments

• Options
    MitchellMitchell Registered Users Posts: 3,503 Major grins
    edited August 27, 2013
    What glass do you currently own and use for your wedding work? Don't be so quick to dismiss fx. A lightly used D700 would be a great option for you and can be had for $1400.
  • Options
    perronefordperroneford Registered Users Posts: 550 Major grins