Options

Figured out transparent Nav

RichmondImageRichmondImage Registered Users Posts: 65 Big grins
edited September 7, 2013 in SmugMug Customization
I know I was blowing up this board for the last few days asking around about how to make my dropdown nav transparent, but after MANY hours of trial and error I finally got something that works. Now this doesnt actually make the NAV transparent but it seems like the Nav flyover widget inherits a lot of properties from the main site css so here is how i got around it.
.sm-user-ui {
  background-color: rgba(0, 0, 0, .5);
}

then to remove the borders around the individual labels
.yui3-menu-item>.yui3-menu-label {
  border: hidden;
}

I inserted this in a CSS content block on the entire page section, simply because I have a number of pages that are custom from the default theme.

richmondimage.net to have a look

Comments

  • Options
    WiscoFrankWiscoFrank Registered Users Posts: 161 Major grins
    edited August 13, 2013
    Nice. I'll give this a try.
  • Options
    TerryRLoweTerryRLowe Registered Users Posts: 10 Big grins
    edited August 14, 2013
    Didn't work on mine. Do I need to select a particular text color or anything from the menu editor?

    Terrylowe.com
  • Options
    TerryRLoweTerryRLowe Registered Users Posts: 10 Big grins
    edited August 14, 2013
    By the way. I don't know a thing about CSS. I simply cut and pasted your code in. Was I supposed to do anything else?
  • Options
    RichmondImageRichmondImage Registered Users Posts: 65 Big grins
    edited August 14, 2013
    Where did you put it? And do you have a site I can look at to assist?
  • Options
    electrolyteelectrolyte Registered Users Posts: 59 Big grins
    edited August 14, 2013
    Hi James

    It doesn't work for me either. I copied both bits of CSS and put into my sitewide CSS box (in customise site > whole site > theme > "modified" (what I called my modded theme) advanced > custom CSS). Your code made the dropdowns more grey and made the borders whiter.

    I've removed the code.

    I am no CSS expert but is there a stray > in your second bit of code?
  • Options
    TerryRLoweTerryRLowe Registered Users Posts: 10 Big grins
    edited August 14, 2013
    My site is terrylowe.com.

    I placed the code under "entire site" within my CSS app placeholder. It is the only code I have there
  • Options
    RichmondImageRichmondImage Registered Users Posts: 65 Big grins
    edited August 14, 2013
    I am honestly miffed. That is the only code that I use and I put it in a css holder on the header of the entire site and another on my homepage since it is set as different. One note... I do not have any colors set on my theme, specifically the primary color might interfere. I have gone through a number of iterations of this code including the following, but they do not appear on my site anymore. See if any of these either alone or together might help.
    .sm-user-ui .sm-accordion>.sm-accordion-item>.sm-accordion-children>.sm-accordion-item {
      background: transparent;
      border-bottom-color: rgba(255, 255, 255, 0.01);
    }
    
    .sm-user-ui.sm-page-widget-nav-popover a {
      background-color: transparent;
      opacity: .1;
    }
    
    .sm-user-ui .sm-dropdown {
      background: transparent;
      border-color: hidden;
    }
    
  • Options
    RichmondImageRichmondImage Registered Users Posts: 65 Big grins
    edited August 14, 2013
    I will tell you this, a lot of the stuff that I do, I just play with for as long as it takes to get what I want... I don't have a traditional understanding of CSS
  • Options
    southeasternphotographysoutheasternphotography Registered Users Posts: 647 Major grins
    edited August 14, 2013
    RichmondImage, Can you put your website into your DGRIN profile where we can click on your name and then on your website? Thanks!
  • Options
    basfltbasflt Registered Users Posts: 1,882 Major grins
    edited August 18, 2013
    why dont you try this
    .yui3-menu > .yui3-menu-children {
        position: absolute;
    }
    
    .sm-user-ui.yui3-menu-vertical .yui3-menu-children, .sm-user-ui .yui3-menu-vertical .yui3-menu-children {
        background-color: rgba(0, 0, 0, 0.2);
    }
    

    works for me
    i had in theme CSS at first , but that did not work
    but now in entire site CSS it work fine

    note
    position is relative by default
  • Options
    markmicallefmarkmicallef Registered Users Posts: 69 Big grins
    edited August 18, 2013
    basflt wrote: »
    why dont you try this
    .yui3-menu > .yui3-menu-children {
        position: absolute;
    }
    
    .sm-user-ui.yui3-menu-vertical .yui3-menu-children, .sm-user-ui .yui3-menu-vertical .yui3-menu-children {
        background-color: rgba(0, 0, 0, 0.2);
    }
    

    works for me
    i had in theme CSS at first , but that did not work
    but now in entire site CSS it work fine

    note
    position is relative by default

    The first didn't work for me but this one did Thanks basflt
  • Options
    AllenAllen Registered Users Posts: 10,011 Major grins
    edited August 18, 2013
    basflt wrote: »
    why dont you try this
    [COLOR=Red].yui3-menu > .yui3-menu-children {
        position: absolute;
    }[/COLOR]
    
    .sm-user-ui.yui3-menu-vertical .yui3-menu-children, .sm-user-ui .yui3-menu-vertical .yui3-menu-children {
        background-color: rgba(0, 0, 0, 0.2);
    }
    
    works for me
    i had in theme CSS at first , but that did not work
    but now in entire site CSS it work fine note position is relative by default
    The absolute position in this is messing up the size popup menu in lightbox.
    .yui3-menu > .yui3-menu-children {
        position: absolute;
    }
    
    With it I only get the "small", see top image. Removing it I get the correct bottom image.
    Al - Just a volunteer here having fun
    My Website index | My Blog
  • Options
    AllenAllen Registered Users Posts: 10,011 Major grins
    edited August 18, 2013
    Allen wrote: »
    The absolute position in this is messing up the size popup menu in lightbox.
    .yui3-menu > .yui3-menu-children {
        position: absolute;
    }
    
    With it I only get the "small", see top image. Removing it I get the correct bottom image.
    See if changing to this works better and not with affecting the lightbox.

    .sm-page-widget-nav-toplink .yui3-menu>.yui3-menu-children{position:absolute}
    Al - Just a volunteer here having fun
    My Website index | My Blog
  • Options
    markmicallefmarkmicallef Registered Users Posts: 69 Big grins
    edited August 18, 2013
    basflt wrote: »
    why dont you try this
    .yui3-menu > .yui3-menu-children {
        position: absolute;
    }
    
    .sm-user-ui.yui3-menu-vertical .yui3-menu-children, .sm-user-ui .yui3-menu-vertical .yui3-menu-children {
        background-color: rgba(0, 0, 0, 0.2);
    }
    

    works for me
    i had in theme CSS at first , but that did not work
    but now in entire site CSS it work fine

    note
    position is relative by default
    Allen wrote: »
    See if changing to this works better and not with affecting the lightbox.

    .sm-page-widget-nav-toplink .yui3-menu>.yui3-menu-children{position:absolute}

    Yes Allen , it did cause a lightbox problem, your code fixed that.

    But I noticed a visible problem with my radius menu in lightbox.

    Can you help me hide that?
  • Options
    AllenAllen Registered Users Posts: 10,011 Major grins
    edited August 18, 2013
    Yes Allan , it did cause a lightbox problem, your code fixed that.

    But I noticed a visible problem with my radius menu in lightbox.

    Can you help me hide that?
    Are you referring to the rounded corners of only the bottom of the size menu?
    You have also lost the hover effects of the LB size menu.

    BTW, your site menu is so transparent it makes reading anything difficult.
    Al - Just a volunteer here having fun
    My Website index | My Blog
  • Options
    AllenAllen Registered Users Posts: 10,011 Major grins
    edited August 18, 2013
    ...
    Allen wrote: »
    ...
    You have also lost the hover effects of the LB size menu.
    ...
    This is what is causing the lost of a hover effect on the LB size menu. If this is only for your main site menu
    might add .sm-page-widget-nav-toplink in front of each to make this CSS more specific and see what
    happens. Edit: I can't find a specific identifier for this.
    .sm-user-ui.yui3-menu-vertical a.yui3-menu-label:hover,.sm-user-ui .yui3-menu-vertical a.yui3-menu-label:hover,
    .sm-user-ui.yui3-menu-horizontal>.yui3-menu-children>.yui3-menu-item .yui3-menu-item a.yui3-menu-label:hover,
    .sm-user-ui .yui3-menu-horizontal>.yui3-menu-children>.yui3-menu-item .yui3-menu-item a.yui3-menu-label:hover
    {background:0;color:#8d8f93}
    
    Al - Just a volunteer here having fun
    My Website index | My Blog
  • Options
    markmicallefmarkmicallef Registered Users Posts: 69 Big grins
    edited August 18, 2013
    Allen wrote: »
    Are you referring to the rounded corners of only the bottom of the size menu?
    You have also lost the hover effects of the LB size menu.

    BTW, your site menu is so transparent it makes reading anything difficult.

    I'm referring to the light gray behind the rounded corners of the menu.

    Thanks for the menu tranparency comment, I'll darken it up some more.
  • Options
    markmicallefmarkmicallef Registered Users Posts: 69 Big grins
    edited August 19, 2013
    Allen wrote: »
    Are you referring to the rounded corners of only the bottom of the size menu?
    You have also lost the hover effects of the LB size menu.

    BTW, your site menu is so transparent it makes reading anything difficult.
    Allen wrote: »
    This is what is causing the lost of a hover effect on the LB size menu. If this is only for your main site menu
    might add .sm-page-widget-nav-toplink in front of each to make this CSS more specific and see what
    happens.
    .sm-user-ui.yui3-menu-vertical a.yui3-menu-label:hover,.sm-user-ui .yui3-menu-vertical a.yui3-menu-label:hover,
    .sm-user-ui.yui3-menu-horizontal>.yui3-menu-children>.yui3-menu-item .yui3-menu-item a.yui3-menu-label:hover,
    .sm-user-ui .yui3-menu-horizontal>.yui3-menu-children>.yui3-menu-item .yui3-menu-item a.yui3-menu-label:hover
    {background:0;color:#8d8f93}
    

    hat did fix the broken hover, but it did ADD the Gray box on hover. I eliminated that in my main menu and opted for a white text on hover. How can I fix that?
  • Options
    markmicallefmarkmicallef Registered Users Posts: 69 Big grins
    edited August 19, 2013
    That did fix the broken hover, but it did ADD the Gray box while hovering. I eliminated that in my main menu and opted for a white text on hover. How can I fix that?
    Originally Posted by Allen View Post
    This is what is causing the lost of a hover effect on the LB size menu. If this is only for your main site menu
    might add .sm-page-widget-nav-toplink in front of each to make this CSS more specific and see what
    happens.
    .sm-user-ui.yui3-menu-vertical a.yui3-menu-label:hover,.sm-user-ui .yui3-menu-vertical a.yui3-menu-label:hover,
    .sm-user-ui.yui3-menu-horizontal>.yui3-menu-children>.yui3-menu-item .yui3-menu-item a.yui3-menu-label:hover,
    .sm-user-ui .yui3-menu-horizontal>.yui3-menu-children>.yui3-menu-item .yui3-menu-item a.yui3-menu-label:hover
    {background:0;color:#8d8f93}
    
    That did fix the broken hover, but it did ADD the Gray box on hover. I eliminated that in my main menu and opted for a white text on hover. How can I fix that?

    I'm referring to the light gray behind the rounded corners of the menu.

    i-JsSL26w.jpg
  • Options
    markmicallefmarkmicallef Registered Users Posts: 69 Big grins
    edited August 19, 2013
    That did fix the broken hover, but it did ADD the Gray box on hovering. I eliminated that in my main menu and opted for a white text on hovering. How can I fix that?

    I'm referring to the light gray behind the rounded corners of the menu.

    i-JsSL26w.jpg

    Fixed it with this code
    .sm-user-ui.yui3-menu-vertical {
        background-color: rgba(0, 0, 0, 0.9);
    }
    

    I would like to turn the text white on hover, Started a new thread for this question
  • Options
    RichmondImageRichmondImage Registered Users Posts: 65 Big grins
    edited August 19, 2013
    Hey, sorry I have been absent from the forum for the last week, I have been working on some other stuff that has been eating up all my time, glad there are a couple of people who know a bit more about this stuff working on this as well
  • Options
    toddbuchanantoddbuchanan Registered Users Posts: 60 Big grins
    edited August 25, 2013
    I loved the transperance hack for my menus but I ran into the same thing with the menu problems in the lightbox...so I tried some tweeks and used your css code but just removed the last set on the second group of menus (.yui3-menu-children)...so my final css was this:

    .yui3-menu> .yui3-menu-children {
    position: static;
    }

    .sm-user-ui.yui3-menu-vertical .yui3-menu-children, .sm-user-ui .yui3-menu-vertical {
    background-color: rgba(0, 0, 0, 0.4);
    }

    and everything seems to work fine now and looks great with the transperancy of the menu!

    And I put the CSS code in a seperate sitewide CSS I created...it didn't seem to work if I put it in the Theme CSS...

    Thanks for this great little hack...
  • Options
    Sir_EagleSir_Eagle Registered Users Posts: 137 Major grins
    edited August 25, 2013
    .sm-user-ui.yui3-menu-vertical .yui3-menu-children, .sm-user-ui .yui3-menu-vertical {
    background-color: rgba(0, 0, 0, 0.4);
    }
    Used this and finally got rid of the grey box behind my dropdown menus, except the cell being hovered over. Anyone know how to get rid of it when hovering?
  • Options
    [Deleted User][Deleted User] Pro Nerd, Amateur Photog CanadaPosts: 0 Big grins
    edited September 2, 2013
    The user and all related content has been deleted.
  • Options
    basfltbasflt Registered Users Posts: 1,882 Major grins
    edited September 5, 2013
    finally found the class for the ugly hover color

    .sm-user-ui.yui3-menu-vertical .yui3-menu-item:hover,
    .sm-user-ui .yui3-menu-vertical .yui3-menu-item:hover,
    .sm-user-ui.yui3-menu-horizontal > .yui3-menu-children > .yui3-menu-item .yui3-menu-item:hover,
    .sm-user-ui .yui3-menu-horizontal > .yui3-menu-children > .yui3-menu-item .yui3-menu-item:hover {
    background: ...........
    }
  • Options
    FredsouFredsou Registered Users Posts: 62 Big grins
    edited September 5, 2013
    1- How to adjust the size of the word in drop down menu. My main nav the size are bigger than the drop down sub menu
  • Options
    basfltbasflt Registered Users Posts: 1,882 Major grins
    edited September 6, 2013
    Fredsou wrote: »
    1- How to adjust the size of the word in drop down menu. My main nav the size are bigger than the drop down sub menu


    in entire site , you have a menu box
    click the wrench icon
    make sure Top Link Format and Sub Link Format are the same
  • Options
    FredsouFredsou Registered Users Posts: 62 Big grins
    edited September 6, 2013
    basflt wrote: »
    in entire site , you have a menu box
    click the wrench icon
    make sure Top Link Format and Sub Link Format are the same

    Same both. Is't ony for lowercase , upper case

    I'm talking about size. I'm able to change the size with text size but the submenu stay at the same
  • Options
    FredsouFredsou Registered Users Posts: 62 Big grins
    edited September 7, 2013
    I added a level in my nav bar and the coding is not applied to the sub-level. How can I have sub level Transparent... same as 1st level.
    Nav bar -> Gallery -> Maternity Gallery -> Maternity

    The coding is applied to Maternity Gallery but not to sub level Maternity
Sign In or Register to comment.