Options

Case Sensitive URLs: A TERRIBLE Idea!

austincaineaustincaine Registered Users Posts: 8 Big grins
edited October 2, 2013 in SmugMug Customization
Dear SmugMug,

First let me say I'm a fan and I am happy your service exists. That being said, I actually had to register on here just to post this and I would appreciate some actual consideration on this topic and not some blanket statement reply I've seen given to other people asking about this. I've been shooting for many years dealing with prints directly and I just recently signed up for your service, which generally seems great but a few things are highly irritating as a professional and should be corrected immediately!

Mainly, why on Earth would you guys think using case-sensitive URLs would be a good idea? This is the most business-killing scheme you could have implemented! The idea of being user friendly is to make things EASIER for the end user not complicate it by having to tell them "be sure to pay attention to case sensitivity." Not only have you alienated EVERY customer's clients who may have received earlier advertising material using all lowercase URLs but in essence most end users fundamentally understand that case doesn't typically matter because it's GOOD PROGRAMMING PRACTICE to ignore case within URLs and not many sites out there use this practice (mainly because, and I say this in a statistical manner, many people as a whole are fairly ignorant to "computer stuff").

Now I've been scouring the forums for answers on what's going on with this and if there is a way to bypass them and it seems the generic answer is that you did this just to differentiate customer URLs from your internal system URLs? I'm sorry to be so frank here but that's just stupid. The differentiation should come from the subdomain of the customer username not from the casing of the appended paths.

Scenario: "www.smugmug.com/signup"