Options

Can custom page not inherit 'entire site'?

pfbpfb Registered Users Posts: 9 Beginner grinner
edited October 13, 2013 in SmugMug Customization
(I have a 'Power' level subscription)

I previously created a 'new smugmug' custom site with a header, footer, and horizontal menu on 'entire site'. I wanted these elements to display on my homepage as well as all my galleries, this seemed to work fine at the time.

Now I want to create a new custom page, very clean, without any of the headers or menus, also with a custom theme...

Smugmug help page Customization: How do I Create and Customize Pages? says:
Pages are end points in the hierarchy, similar to galleries BUT they do not require the addition of photos. They provide you with a completely blank slate to which you can add content, themes or advanced customization to create a page that is truly unique to you.

...But when I create a new custom page, it inherits all properties from 'entire site' and doesn't allow you to delete any of them.

I suspect that I can't do what I want without removing everything from 'entire site' and adding it to 'all galleries' and 'home page' separately. Kind of a pain, as I don't think I can just move those elements, I need to delete them and then rebuild them again... Menus are custom, multi-level, and took a while to get right.

Any thoughts or suggestions?

Comments

• Options
    AllenAllen Registered Users Posts: 10,011 Major grins
    edited October 13, 2013
    Logos and menus are assigned a specific class name so those can be hidden with CSS on you page.
    I originally used a single photo in my header but it changes name every page so I switched it to a logo.
    Al - Just a volunteer here having fun
    My Website index | My Blog
  • Options
    rhtrht Registered Users Posts: 42 Big grins
    edited October 13, 2013