Options

trying to master my new monitor

belgiantrotterbelgiantrotter Registered Users Posts: 16 Big grins
edited November 7, 2013 in Digital Darkroom
For all the pro's out there :)
I'm just an amateur and having hard time making sure what I see on screen will be how it's going to be printed.

I just recently replaced my oldest monitor with a ASUS PA249Q. (http://www.asus.com/Monitors_Projectors/PA249Q/) it comes precalibrated from factory for sRGB, Adobe RGB and other native modes such as movie/theater, ....

since I'm doing picture editing in Lightroom I'm using the sRGB mode. (also the mode I shoot my RAW pictures)
however using the mode I often must admit my pictures miss the "punch" in color compared to another monitor I use as a second screen which is a much cheaper LCD flatpanel from Samsung.
the colors on the sRGB monitor look more faded then the other one.

my gut feeling is that this is probably the most true representation of the colors anyway. If I then edit them to make them look good on that monitor it may look ''over the top''/over satured on the other one...
(i still need to test viewing these pictures on another laptop + tablets to see how they show there)

any tips/opinions on the matter?
I guess my safest bet would be to make a few prints and compare. (but i'd like to be closest to the real thing before I do :))

thanks for any tips or advice :thumb:D

greets

Comments

• Options
    NewsyNewsy Registered Users Posts: 605 Major grins
    edited November 5, 2013
    oh, this is a big can of worms. When I get more time I'll come back to it but right away when you say the colors looked more faded it set off alarms about the color space you are saving the images into, and if you have the Windows Color Management app pointed to the correct monitor ICC profile.
  • Options
    edited November 5, 2013
    let me clarify a bit here :)

I do not save the images right now.. (no jpg's created, no prints created)

I shoot in RAW and my Nikon is set to sRGB