Options

Need a Camera. Which one to buy?

WildFireWildFire Registered Users Posts: 3 Beginner grinner
edited December 23, 2013 in Cameras
Hello All,

I'm a very new media student with no photography experience (yet!), and need to purchase a decent SLR. I cannot have, nor do I desire, a point-and-shoot; my phone covers that arena. I want a complicated camera, with lots of buttons to press and complicated features. :wink

I do need one which does really good stills, and good video. Reason why I ask for a two-in-one is because it's exhausting carrying two cameras, and I really don't have the storage space. Also, the video will be mainly for web-media for my blog, than being put on the silver screen. Unfortunately, video-phone material will not be accepted for my BA. :rolleyes

I was eyeing the very expensive Canon 5D Miii.. :lust it is quite a beauty. A friend of mine has a Mii, and raves about it. What's the big difference for the Mii and Miii? A not-photographer friend of mine told me it's a waste of money, and to buy a Canon Rebel. NO. I will have to work with this in the near future, and I really prefer to have the most advanced pieces of technology when I'm buying, so that it will last me a few years and still be a decent device. (It's like buying a Macbook Air with that i7 + 8GB RAM, even though I don't need it right now.)

I would prefer a Canon since everyone on this ruddy island has one, and all of my photog-pals would lend me lenses, and I, them.

So, great stills, good video. Budget is negligible. :barb Which would YOU purchase?

Comments

• Options
    ziggy53ziggy53 Super Moderators Posts: 23,835 moderator
    edited December 20, 2013
    To be honest, if you want an extremely good still plus video Canon DSLR, and if you have the funds, the Canon 1D-X is what I would recommend.

Be sure to read this review from Philip Bloom:

http://philipbloom.net/2012/08/14/1dx-2/

... and especially this comment,