Another reason to shoot in RAW

cletuscletus Registered Users Posts: 1,930 Major grins
edited July 13, 2004 in Technique
One question that comes up a lot around here is "Should I shot in RAW mode or JPEG Fine?". It seems that every photographer will at some point decide which mode is best for them. For me, I like to shoot in RAW.

A couple weeks ago I was taking pictures with a borrowed Nikon D100 at my amateur radio club's Field Day effort. I took a hand-full of shots in RAW and then switched to JPEG Fine. I was worried that I might run out of storage over the weekend long Field Day effort. Big Mistake!

When I started shooting with the D100 I could tell that the images were overexposed. I dialed in some underexposure and shot away. It wasn't until I got to a computer and downloaded the images that I realized what the problem was. The camera's contrast adjustment was way out of wack. Things that were in shade were ok, but anything in direct light was completely blown out. I should have realized what was going on, but because I was using a new camera, I didn't catch it in time.

So how does all this relate to RAW vs JPEG Fine? The handfull of images I shot in RAW were easily corrected when I brought them into photoshop. The JPEG Fine images on the other hand were almost worthless. The blown out areas contained almost no detail in the JPEGs and I was left with three or four decent images out of 30 or 40 that I took.

So the conclusion is this... Another Field Day has come and gone and once again I only have a half a dozen images I really like. If I had just stuck with my trusty G5 and/or shot in RAW I would have had a lot more usable images.

Comments

• AndyAndy Registered Users Posts: 50,016 Major grins
    edited July 10, 2004
    only raw for this photographer
    yep, cletus, a good (hard) story you've related here.