Options

Thinking about using SmugMug but I don't GET IT!

ajcphotoajcphoto Registered Users Posts: 2 Beginner grinner
edited February 10, 2014 in SmugMug Support
OK maybe I get it a little but need some clarification. First why no phone support? Drives me a little nuts. Alway let me explain my thoughts and situation. I am a portrait wedding photographer. I don't really want to deal with prints or printing any more. I want to spend my time shooting and editing. So I basically have my clients pay me a flat fee for the shoot/session and digital image downloads. I would love to have a place where I can post and password protect the images and allow them, my clients, to with the correct password access and download them images. I don't want to have to pay smugmug to download their images. They have paid me up front and I don't want them to be charged by Smug. First is this possible and under what plans. Second I wouldn't mind allowing my clients to order prints via smugmug with a little markup for me but if they order prints I again do not want them to be charged for the download. I contacted SM heroes about this and the answer I received was I could but only if I offered my clients a "coupon". This makes zero sense to me. Can someone help me and make this clear. When are my client charge by smugmug and when aren't they. Can I offer FREE downloads but still charge for prints?

Comments

• Options
    AllenAllen Registered Users Posts: 10,012 Major grins
    edited February 10, 2014
    In their passworded galleries leave originals enabled. There should be a download botton on every photo.
    It's one photo at a time but free to them.
    Al - Just a volunteer here having fun
    My Website index | My Blog
  • Options
    FergusonFerguson Registered Users Posts: 1,339 Major grins
    edited February 10, 2014
    I'm a bit confused but it may be because I don't have a pro account, so I do not sell from Smugmug.