Options

Strobes for swimming....

wingerwinger Registered Users Posts: 694 Major grins
edited November 10, 2005 in Technique
Ok I am getting a set of Alien Bees in the mail on friday and I wanted to shoot swimming on saturday. Yeah I know lights water bad idea, but the pool has balconeys that I can set the lights up.

Now I have never used strobes before, so what kind of settings will I be looking to use.

Does anyone know a cheap light meter I can get to help me figure out the settings or is it worth it to buy a really good one.

Is there anything else I can use to trigger the lights wirelessly other than pocket wizards?

Any help would totally be appreciated.

Comments

• Options
    blackwaterstudioblackwaterstudio Registered Users Posts: 779 Major grins
    edited November 9, 2005
    Winger,
    take a look at this. Maybe it'll help.

http://www.daveblackphotography.com/workshop/arena-lighting.htm
  • Options
    edited November 9, 2005
    Yeah I have seen that before ( I have it book marked, I dont know if these lights are powerful enough, but those are cool effects even with the one or two lamps that I certainly can do with the women's team......)

Pocket wizards are expensive, and I guess if that is the route I am eventually going to go, but ugh.

Do they come as a set of two, or two I have to buy two, one for the camera and one for the flash units....

I know in the arena I would have to wire all the flash units together so they dont go off when one of the other guys stobes go off, but I am not even sure how much I want to start strobing the big arena anyways because I have way more flexibility because I am not held down by lights......

But it would be cool to experiment none the less.