Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L IS vs Non-IS??

lowryelowrye Registered Users Posts: 1 Beginner grinner
edited April 28, 2014 in Weddings
Hello all!
I am a portrait photographer and mainly use my 50mm. I am new to weddings and I know most wedding photogs shoot with the Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM. However, I can not, in no way possible fit that into my budget. I have done a handful of weddings and was able to use the 70-200mm f/4L IS and I loved it, but no longer have it. Long story short, I need to buy a 70-200mm for some weddings I have booked in a few months. I originally was just going to rent for the occasions, but I found a few Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L on craigslist that I can afford. These are not IS though. My question is, what is the big difference between IS and Non-IS. I do not have a steady hand and I know the IS reduces camera shake, but is there really that big of a difference?? Thanks!

Comments

• mercphotomercphoto Registered Users Posts: 4,550 Major grins
    edited February 11, 2014
    Remember though, that while IS will reduce camera shake it does NOTHING for reducing subject movement while the shutter is open. Your wedding guests will probably be moving around during your shots, correct? If so you will need a fast enough shutter speed to freeze their action. No way around that. IS cannot help that situation. And if the shutter is that high, chances are reasonable its also fast enough to deal with your shaky hand. Hoping more chime in here, but I'm guessing you won't need the IS for this type of work.
    Bill Jurasz - Mercury Photography - Cedar Park, TX
    A former sports shooter
    Follow me at: https://www.flickr.com/photos/bjurasz/
    My Etsy store: https://www.etsy.com/shop/mercphoto?ref=hdr_shop_menu
  • wave01wave01 Registered Users Posts: 204 Major grins
    edited February 12, 2014
    if you want a 2.8 then look at the sigma 70-200os.
  • SamSam Registered Users Posts: 7,419 Major grins
    edited February 12, 2014
    lowrye wrote: »