Artistic License vs. Histogram???

2»

Comments

• cab.in.bostoncab.in.boston Registered Users Posts: 634 Major grins
    edited August 12, 2014
    This has been an interesting and enlightening thread. You make some very valid points, particularly about the business sense and delivery of photos, but some of the things you say have me wondering.

I am by no means a professional photographer, and have no interest in being one. There was once when a friend "commissioned" me to shoot some photos to be hung on her wall because she liked some of what I have done. In the end, it was a royal pain because after I delivered to her what I was happy with, processed how I like (which is after all why she asked me to do it - she liked my "style"), she wanted to see the rest of what I'd done, and had all sorts of comments on what she'd like to see in the processing, etc. To the extent that I wondered why didn't she just do it herself, because it wasn't really "my" image. Yes, I took them, but it wasn't what I was happy to call representative of my work in some cases. I'm sure you have shot things where you come home with dozens or hundreds of images that don't make your cut, and you wouldn't want getting "out there" for people to see, because for whatever reason you just weren't happy with them. So I'd guess you know what I mean. We all shoot a certain percentage of tossers, no matter how careful we are.