PS LAB Color, Chapter 16 -- Recipe for portraits

ruttrutt Registered Users Posts: 6,511 Major grins
edited December 5, 2008 in Finishing School
44641145-L.jpg

This chapter presents a recipe for portraits which Dan claims drastically improves their belivability. The recipe is easy to learn but it has a few decision points which I've found difficult to master. I've been practicing it for a few months now and also practiced in Dan's class. Now I'm getting consistently improved portraits, though I still make mistakes. Dan demonstrated with about 5 or 6 images in class and competed with his students on another 4 or five images and his results were consistently fantastic. Even if you follow the steps exactly as Dan presents them, the whole recipe can be applied in a minute or so, once you get the hang of it. I've introduced some automation which replaces a few of the repetitive steps and makes it even simpler to do.

[size=+2]The basic recipe:[/size]
  1. Remove any cast. Dan says to do this in RGB, but really you can use your preferred method, good raw conversion, RGB curves, LAB curves, whatever. At the end of this step, your fleshtones should be warm, positive both A and B. (At least as much yellow as magenta.) The rule that B should be at least as positive as A is only a rule of thumb. Rosy cheeks, sunburn, makeup, cold wet days, sunset light, can all lead to exceptions. But in principle, it's good to find at least some flesh where this is true, perhaps on the neck. For darker complexioned people, the balance will tend to favor yellow and for lighter complexioned people it will tend toward balance with more magenta than yellow in the rosy cheeks, etc. Balancing on a known neutral area, perhaps a white shirt or grey hair often works. Important:Don't worry if you desaturate a bit at this point. As long as the fleshtones are warm, the recipe will add plenty of saturation soon.