Options

New Photog Looking For Constructive Criticism

Ttop97Ttop97 Registered Users Posts: 2 Beginner grinner
edited June 2, 2015 in Street and Documentary
Hi Guys,
I'm a new photographer. I'm currently using a bridge camera and have taken many shots of the streets round where I live. I've taken the shots in AV mode as I'm not familiar with shutter speed and iso settings yet.

I realise some of my photos don't have strong subject matter and some don't appear aswell as they should due to my camera's inability to deal with low light.

But I'd appreciate it if you could give me some feedback and criticism.

I've compiled the images in to a flickr album as there are quite a few and I feel it may clog up the forum a little if there are too many:https://www.flickr.com/gp/133686075@N03/8B11Fp

thanks,
Ttop97

Comments

• Options
    EaracheEarache Registered Users Posts: 3,533 Major grins
    edited May 31, 2015
    Welcome to Dgrin and photography Ttop97… if you end-up being bit by the “photo bug”, you’ll find that it’s both a blessing and a curse… but terribly fun either way! I looked at your flikr post, and while I don’t have any specific feedback because imo the images are - as you mentioned - more of an exercise to learn the camera rather than finished images, I do have some general suggestions based on my own experiences after being “bit”:

Become a student of the key elements of photography… light, shadow, angle, light, perspective, optics, exposure (aperture/iso/shutter-speed), light, subjects, light, composition, camera, light, light, light!!!

There is an infinity of learning material on-line… too much really. So, in addition to “book learning”, I suggest joining a camera/photography club for a more personal and social learning experience.