Options

understanding print size/resolution

emiliewasmyeveemiliewasmyeve Registered Users Posts: 127 Major grins
edited November 9, 2015 in The Big Picture
Hey, all.

Embarrassingly, even though I have a mildly successful lifestyle photography business and am self-taught, I don't fully understand resolution/print size correlation.

I'm trying to print a photo that's 20x36. The pixel dimensions are 3801x2535. The document size is 240 pixels/15.8'' x 10.5''.

Will I be able to print a canvas that large without distortion? I'm not getting any warnings from my usual printer.

Thanks for the help!

Comments

• Options
    RichardRichard Administrators, Vanilla Admin Posts: 19,919 moderator
    edited November 9, 2015
    You're trying to print at around twice the length and width that the pixels provide at 240 pixels / inch. That means that you will be printing at around 120 pixels / inch. That's higher than some screen resolutions, but on the low side for print. The results will depend on the image itself. I've printed some images at 24 x 36 that had fewer pixels and the results have been acceptable for my purposes. I guess the answer is, maybe. ne_nau.gif
  • Options
    mercphotomercphoto Registered Users Posts: 4,550 Major grins
    edited November 9, 2015
    Its a complicated question to answer. I once printed a 16x20 from a 5 million pixel JPG, and it was fantastic. Part of that was the lens, the Canon 50/1.4. Part of it was using a tripod. Part of it was the subject matter itself.

When you are talking large prints, that usually means long viewing distances. And that means that lots of pixels aren't quite as necessary. 300 dpi for a 4x6 print is a necessary requiremnt because you are so close to the photo. But 20x30, you're talking viewing distances of several feet, likely more.

Is it truly a "canvas" as you say, or a paper print? If canvas, don't worry. The texture of the canvas alone will hide a lot of resolution.